blocky encoding

Convert any type of file to DVD and burn to play on any type of DVD player. Create customized menus. Special menu template creator included

Moderators: Maggie, ckhouston, JJ, Phil, alexia, Forum admin

thebestmixes

blocky encoding

Post by thebestmixes »

i have upgraded to ver 7 from 6, i have used your software for yonks and it has been great, but with 7 the quality im getting is awful, what i do is take 3 movies mabye a mkv or an avi or mp4 and make a multi dvd with menus etc, never had a problem always worked so well and easy, but now the final product makes the films look all blocky and def not the quality of the original and i have played with settings and tried several failed versions on 2 different computers, im a computer techie by trade so im not a fool but im lost to why it takes a perfect avi and makes it look so bad, i changed the setting from auto as several suggested and still very poor quality, i set it so it wouldnt encode and just copy the source that failed, can anyone suggest the best settings for doing this and ill give it one more go before i drop this and find another program, im running windows 7 x64 with a ati radeon r7 200 gpu, i just take 3 films under 4gb and want a menu driven disk for 3 films so im not asking for much, any settings u may suggest??
Claire
VSO Team Member

Re: blocky encoding

Post by Claire »

Hello,

To start it would be best if you could post your log file of the conversion, you can find that here
C:\ProgramData\VSO\ConvertXToDVD\7\Log

The only big change between version 6 and version 7 is the menu template creator which was added, so the encoding engine was not adjusted or changed (or not so in regards to how quality could be affected).

I'd be happy to send you older version 6s if you want to test with those.

When you load the files in ConvertXtoDVD and if you play them in the preview window on the right side of the interface how do the files play there before conversion? Any "blockiness"?